The Great War

Frequently Asked Questions



 

What are the different costs to attempt an advance in technology?

Aircraft: 4
Gas: 4
Industrial: 3
Infantry: 3


If naval units of one power (the UK, for example) attacks another (say, Germany) in a sea zone with allied units already in it (perhaps French), do the allied units play any role?

On attack, the allied units have no impact (they cannot attack out of turn). However, on defense, all allied fleets fight together.


If defending aircraft prevail in an aerial battle, do they provide any "aerial spotting" benefit for defending units?

If defenders rule the skies, then all they do is prevent the attackers from gaining the bonus (and contribute modestly to the defense). They do not add a +1 to defending infantry.


Can Britain share its Industrial Warfare technology with its allies?

Yes. Essentially, all Allies start with at least a half-step toward the first tech in this series.


Can long-range guns (heavy artillery and railway guns) fire over sea zones? For example, can German guns shell Britain?


No. Nothing in WWI had quite the range to accurately hit anything strategic across an ocean or channel.


If I attack a convoy zone, do I need to clear it of all defenders to capture it?

Yes. Enemy fleets may coexist, but to capture the convoy the defending fleet must be destroyed. If enemy subs are present, and they submerge to escape from battle, they are still considered to be defeated and the convoy changes ownership.


On the first round (before Serbia automatically joins Russia), can Germany or Austria attempt to influence Serbia to join the Central Powers?

No. This would be both unbalancing and anti-historical. In fact, the dispute between Serbia and Austria-Hungary provided the first conflict leading to the wider war.


If I attack the US convoy zones, will the Allies get free influence rolls for the other major neutrals?

No. The converse (i.e. "Do attacks on the major neutrals allow influence rolls on the US convoys?") is also negative. The US was not much involved in European affairs during most of World War I.


Can multiple gas canisters or shells be used in the same battle?

Yes. Although an unlimited number of chemical weapons may be used in the same battle, the attackers needs to check the wind only once per battle. If unfavorable, no canisters may be used. Shells are of course immune to wind effect.


Can chemical weapons be moved through my allies' territory?


No. Chemical weapons are unique in that they assume the nationality of the territory in which they reside, which is why they can be captured. If they are moved into the territory of a friendly empire, then that empire takes ownership of the weapons, and may move or use them on the following turn. This is essentially a "donation" to an ally.


St. Petersburg was the capital of Russia during World War I. Why must I capture Moscow to fulfill victory conditions as the Central Powers?

Though in 1914 St. Petersburg was indeed the capital, Moscow was quickly eclipsing the home of the Tsars as an economic and cultural center. Moscow actually became the capital very shortly after Russia's withdrawal from World War I.
In The Great War, we made a gameplay decision to have Moscow be the target zone for the Central Powers' aggression, to prevent a sudden game-stopping naval attack on Saint Petersburg early in the game.